Childhood memories

I’m absolutely ecstatic at the news of a movie based on one of my favorite childhood books, Where the Wild Things Are.  The live action movie looks incredible.  I bought a t-shirt about 6 or 7 months ago with the characters from the book on it.  Then I saw the trailer the other day.  This book really helped to encourage using my imagination as a child and really opened my eyes to all the possibilites a kid needs to escape the tough realities that life throws at kids.  It also got me thinking about some of my favorite books as a kid.  Anyone who knows my mother knows that she pushed reading and writing to her children.  I participated in the Book-It promotion at Pizza Hut where you were rewarded with a personal pan pizza for completing like 5 books.  They put a new sticker on your button for every book completed.  I also participated in the summer reading program through the Louisville Public Library.  You got entered in drawings for prizes if you complete 10 books over the summer.  Needless to say, I read plenty of books as a kid.  Here are some of my favorites…

1.  Where the Wild Things Are: This book is a must read for anyone who has never read it.  It is fun and can really help someone open up their imagination to escape reality.

2.  The Very Hungry Caterpillar: This book by Eric Carle was my favorite in either Kindergarten or 1st grade.  I was the narrator for our class presentation of the book.  There is nothing great in a literary sense, but it is a fantastic picture book that teaches young kids how to read and about the life cycle of how a caterpillar turns into a beautiful butterfly.

3.  Goosebumps: I probably read almost every Goosebumps book released.  R.L. Stine is by no means a great writer, but his stories were intriguing to an elementary schooler.  These stories are the children’s equivalent to a Stephen King novel.  One memorable book was Night of the Living Dummy.  It was a tale about a dummy who has a mind of his own.

4. Clifford, the Big Red Dog: Clifford was lovable oversized dog who got into all kinds of trouble.  I’m just glad he never mistaked the house for a fire hydrant.

5. The Boxcar Children: To be honest, I don’t remember any of the characters names but I read a ton of these books.  They were about a group of kids who lost their parents.  The stories usually involved some sort of mystery.

6.  The Indian in the Cupboard: This book told the story of a kid who had a cupboard that gave his toys life.  It covered the ideas of discrimination and friendship.

These were just a few of my favorite books as a kid.  Find the inner child in you and let me know what you loved as a kid.  Please leave a comment on some of your favorites, I would love to see what others enjoyed.  I’m sure to see some Dr. Seuss, Judy Blum, Shel Silverstine, Mark Twain, Roald Dahl, and C.S. Lewis.

Posted on March 29, 2009, in Random Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a comment